Contact Us

Takuma Sato Wins 101st Indy 500 With Late Pass

101st Indianapolis 500
Getty Images

Takuma Sato passed Helio Castroneves with five laps to go and hung on to win the 101st running of the Indy 500 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Sunday afternoon.

It was the first Indy 500 win for Sato, who challenged Dario Franchitti at the end of the 2012 race before crashing on the final lap.

Fearlessly pursuing the lead down the stretch, Sato passed three-time Indy winner Castroneves with five laps left. Sato then held off Castroneves and drove his Andretti Autosport ride into history, becoming the 71st winner of the legendary race and its first Japanese titlist.

Rookie Ed Jones finished third, with Max Chilton placing fourth and Tony Kanaan fifth.

Former Formula One champ Fernando Alonso finished a disappointing 24th after his engine blew with 21 laps left.

Pole sitter — and 2008 Indy 500 winner — Scott Dixon crashed into the inside fence on lap 53 after he made contact with Jay Howard’s No. 77, which had hit the outside wall. Both drivers walked away from the intense, fiery crash (watch below).

Best of 1520 the Ticket

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

Sign up to have exclusive KOLM - 1520 The Ticket contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.

Sign into 1520 The Ticket