The Big Ten Conference had six of its softball programs selected for postseason play on Sunday night, led by the second-ranked Minnesota Gophers, who are heading to the Tuscaloosa, Alabama, regional this weekend.


It's the 12th NCAA Tournament appearance and 5th in a row for the Big Ten champion Gophers. Minnesota will face Louisiana Tech at 1:30 p.m. Friday live on ESPNU.

Two of the star players for the Gophers are Sam Macken from Rochester and Dani Wagner from Hayfield

The 64-team NCAA Tournament field is divided into 16, four-team double-elimination regionals, which begin Thursday. The 16 regional winners advance to best-of-three super regionals (to be played May 25-28 on the campus of the higher-seeded school), with the eight remaining schools competing June 1-7 at the NCAA Women's College World Series in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

More From KOLM - 1520 The Ticket