MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — Apple Valley's Tyus Jones and Lakeville North's J.P. Macura are the co-winners of the 2014 Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year award for boys basketball.

The award was announced Monday.

Joining Jones and Macura on the AP's first team are DeLaSalle's Reid Travis, Osseo's Wheeler Baker and Alex Illikainen of Grand Rapids. Illikainen is the only junior; the rest are seniors.

Jones and Travis shared the Player of the Year award in 2013, but Travis missed time early in the season because of a stress fracture foot. Jones is bound for Duke, Travis for Stanford and Macura for Xavier, one of the best recruiting classes Minnesota has produced in the sport in years.

Lakeville North (Class 4A) and DeLaSalle (Class 3A) were state champions this season.

2014 Minnesota AP All-State boys basketball team
The Associated Press


The Associated Press 2014 All-State teams for Minnesota high school boys basketball:


Tyus Jones, Apple Valley and J.P. Macura, Lakeville North


Tyus Jones, sr, Apple Valley

J.P. Macura, sr, Lakeville North

Reid Travis, sr, DeLaSalle

Wheeler Baker, sr, Osseo

Alex Illikainen, jr, Grand Rapids


Sam Neumann, jr, Cretin-Derham Hall

Brian Goodwin, sr, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa

Matt Ambriz, sr, Woodbury

Amir Coffey, so, Hopkins

Geno Crandall, sr, DeLaSalle


Andre Wallace, sr, Eden Prairie

Reggie Meyer, sr, Totino-Grace

Kamali Chambers, sr, Hopkins

Kory Deadrick, sr, Esko

Zach Wessels, sr, Austin