Northwoods League Announces 2014 Big League Dreams Showcase Rosters
Four teams selected of the top prospects in the Northwoods League

Rochester, Minn. -- The Northwoods League has announced the rosters for the 2014 Big League Dreams Showcase, which will be hosted by the Madison Mallards at Warner Park on Tuesday, August 5.
The 2nd annual Big League Dreams Showcase will consist of a double-header featuring the top players from the Northwoods League who were selected by a panel of Major League Baseball Scouts. The players will participate in a day of workouts in front of scouts which will be followed by the doubleheader.

Proceeds from the event will benefit the Northwoods League Foundation. The Northwoods League Foundation utilizes the game of baseball to enrich the quality of life for children and families with an enduring and caring focus on Northwoods League communities.

The first game will start at 4:05 p.m. and will match a team of players from the visiting North Division against a team of South Division players. The North team will have four players from the Rochester Honkers, including Ryan Boldt, Ryne Roper, Jeff Campbell and Matt Kent.  The North team will have players from the Mankato MoonDogs, St. Cloud Rox and Willmar Stingers. The home South Division team will have players from the Kenosha Kingfish, Green Bay Bullfrogs, Lakeshore Chinooks and the Wisconsin Woodchucks.

The North Division in this first game will be led by 2014 Northwoods League All-Stars Peter Maris (UCSB) and Tyler Sullivan (Pacific) from the Mankato MoonDogs. Four members of the first half North Division Champion Willmar Stingers will be represented in this early game. Hutton Moyer (Pepperdine) of the Stingers will be the starting second baseman for the North.

The South Division will also be well represented in game one. The First Half Champion Lakeshore Chinooks have seven players selected to take part in the game. This impressive group is led by 2014 All-Star and Home Run Challenge champion Brett Siddall (Canisius). The Wisconsin Woodchucks have four players selected to play in game one. This group of Woodchucks is powered by the current Northwoods
League home run leader, Paul DeJong (Illinois State).

The second game will start at 7:35 p.m. and will be played by two additional teams of North and South players. The North team for this game will be made up of players from the Alexandria Blue Anchors, Duluth Huskies, Eau Claire Express and Waterloo Bucks. The South team will have players from the Madison Mallards, Battle Creek Bombers, Kalamazoo Growlers, Wisconsin Rapids Rafters and the La Crosse Loggers.

In the night cap the North Division team will include 2014 Northwoods League All-Stars Daniel Salters (Dallas Baptist) and Tyler Hermann (UW-Milwaukee) of the Eau Claire Express. Four members of the Alexandria Blue Anchors will also suit up for this game.

They will be led by 2014 All-Star outfielder Jordan Lee (Texas - Corpus Christi).
Five members of the hometown Madison Mallards will compete for the South in the second game. This impressive group of players will include 2014 Northwoods League All-Star Game Star of Stars (MVP) Pete Alonso (Florida). Three players from the inaugural Kalamazoo Growlers team will make their way to Madison. This group will include 2014 All-Stars Troy Montgomery (Ohio State) and Ryan Lidge (NotreDame).

Tickets for the event can still be purchased and are available at


For more information, visit

Contact: Matt Bomberg, Vice President