Rochester, MN (Nate Stoltman/RCTC) --  2015-16 was another banner year for the Rochester Community and Technical College Yellowjacket wrestlers.

Getty Images

The team competed in the Minnesota College Athletic Conference (MCAC) Championship on Saturday, January 30 in Willmar, Minnesota, winning championship honors in six of the ten weight classes. This is the fourth consecutive MCAC Tournament Championship for RCTC wrestling.

2016 MCAC Champions include:

Zach Scott (Holdingford, MN) at 141#

Brett Bradford (Byron, MN) at 157#

Connor Hanson (Harmony, MN) at 165#

Dustin Lee (Oregon, WI) at 184#

Ryan Jones (St. Michael, MN) at 197#

Chase Nottestad (Westby, WI) at HWT

In a unanimous vote by MCAC coaches, Connor Hanson was awarded Minnesota College Athletic Conference Wrestler of the Year. Hanson’s record is currently 28-10, and he plans to continue his wrestling career next season, but remains undecided on his transfer plans.

MCAC Tournament Team Scores
1. Rochester Community and Technical College 108.5
2. Ridgewater College 99.5
3. Itasca Community College 31.0
4. Northland Community College 18.5
5. Minnesota West 17.0

"This group of guys has been a great group to work with this season," said Randy Ranger, RCTC head wrestling coach. "This past weekend they continued to show their dominance in the MCAC. The best part about this group is that they are great people to be around. You surround yourself with good people and good teammates; you have to expect positive results."

The RCTC Yellowjacket wrestling team will travel back to Willmar on Thursday, February 4 to wrestle Ridgewater College to determine the MCAC Dual Team Champions. Yellowjacket wrestling is currently undefeated in the Minnesota College Athletic Conference.